Binding parliamentary consultations in details


Deputy Speaker Bou Saab was the first to meet President Michel Aoun Thursday, as the binding parliamentary consultations kicked off in Baabda.

Bou Saab of the Free Patriotic Movement did not nominate anyone, neither did his bloc, except for Akkar MP Mohammed Yehya who named Mikati.

The Lebanese Forces MPs did not nominate anyone, as previously announced by the party's leader Samir Geagea. Neither did MPs Neemat Frem, Jamil al-Sayyed, Fouad Makhzoumi, Abdel Rahman al-Bizri, Oussama Saad, Charbel Massaad, Bilal al-Hshaimi and Michel Daher.

The Democratic Gathering, the North of Confrontation bloc, al-Kataeb, MP Ghassan Skaff, and ten out of the thirteen Oct. 17 MPs nominated ex-President of the U.N. Security Council Nawaf Salam. MPs Elias Jradeh, Halima Qaaqour and Cynthia Zarazir did not nominate anyone.

The Shiite Duo, the Northern Parliamentary Gathering bloc, the Independent National bloc and MP Michel Murr, the Association of Islamic Charitable Projects bloc (al-Ahbash), MP Imad al-Hout, MP Hassan Mrad, MP Jamil Abboud, MP Firas Salloum, MP Jean Talouzian, MP Abdel Karim Kabbara and MP Nabil Badr nominated Mikati.

Meanwhile MP Ashraf Rifi boycotted the consultations, while MP Jihad al-Samad named ex-PM Saad al-Hariri, and MP Ihab Matar named Rawaa Hallab.

Comments 1
Thumb chrisrushlau 12 hours

Who's the guy on the right?